Ee flag Uk flag Ru flag Fi Se flag
  • Suomi off
  • Eesti on

Ptarmigan on nüüdseks suletud.

Ptarmigan tegutses Tallinnas aastatel 2011-2014. Veebilehelt on leitav arhiiv nendel aastatel aset leidnud üritustest. Meie tegevus Tallinnas on lõppenud, kuid mõned liikmed jätkavad nüüd tegutsemist Temporary’s Helsinkis.

Sündmused

23881 4795986385386 763387314 n
Dimanche Rouge #21 - France-Australia
experimental performance
P, 18. nov. 2012, 00:00:00 +0000 10:00 (Finnish time) 09:00 (Paris time) 19:00 (Sydney time) 18:00 (Brisbane time)

Ptarmigan is having its first international venture outside of Europe in collaboration with the Paris based Dimanche Rouge team, Exist from Brisbane, and Tape Projects in Melbourne. 

For its 21st edition, Dimanche Rouge partners with three Australian cities, Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney to produce a cross streamed festival on Sunday, November 18th 2012. Each city will present a one-hour program to be live streamed to the other cities. The edition will begin with the Melbourne program from 7-8pm (Melbourne time), followed by Sydney 8-9pm (Sydney time), and 8-9pm (Brisbane time) ending with Paris (noon-1pm Paris time). For the Paris edition we would like the public to join us for a complimentary breakfast at 9am and Norwegian brunch at noon.

The Paris program is curated by Dimanche Rouge, Brisbane program is curated by Nicola Morton (Exist), Melbourne by Zoe Scoglio and Michael Prior (Tape Projects) and Sydney by Sari Kivinen (Ptarmigan).

Dimanche Rouge has become one of the largest monthly experimental performance festivals in the world with almost 600 artists from 61 different countries featured since its inception in February 2011. 

Dimanche Rouge is currently developing projects abroad intended to create sustainable cultural and artistic exchanges. In 2012, in addition to the Parisian monthly events, Dimanche Rouge has also organized events at the Visual Brasil Festival in Barcelona, Spain, and in Toulouse, France. Dimanche Rouge # 20, held in conjunction with the Mairie 19eme and Kumu Art Museum, saw over 100 artists performing in Paris and Tallinn over three days.

Experimental performing arts are becoming an integral component of contemporary culture. We hope you will join us in exploring this vibrant art scene.

SYDNEY PROGRAM @ Alaska Projects 

Time Paris 10am, Sydney/Melbourne 8pm, Brisbane 7pm

Schappylle Scragg (10’, host performer)
Liam Benson (10’, vocal performance)
Janet Meaney (20’, performance art)
Naomi Oliver (5’, performance art)
Rhys Turner & co (15’, media, spoken word)

 

SYDNEY ARTISTS
Schappylle Scragg is the hostest with the mostest. Last seen sunning herself in all her bling glory on the hottest Gold Coast beaches, Schappylle has returned to Sydney for a blast with her wild past. She will also host the Sydney component of Dimanche Rouge #21 where France meets Australia meets Schappylle. 

Liam Benson presents the performance ‘In his own words’ which is a performance responding to site of Alaska projects. Using the acoustics of the car park Benson will explore his vocal range by reciting and sounding out words, sentences and songs associated with Australian masculinity.

Janet Meaney’s performance  ‘Journeying’ alludes to the ephemerality of our naming and mark making as we journey through the cycle of life. “I will step barefooted into a puddle of white kaolin clay. Carrying a sack, I will scatter Tumerict from it onto the ground in front of me. Then, walking forward I will leave white imprints in the Tumeric  until they become faint.  Walking back I will again step into the puddle and repeat the action alongside the previous foot prints. This action will be repeated until the lines of prints form a circle emanating from the centre. The kaolin defines me as caucasian, the tumeric signifies the Indian tradition of purifying and beautifying the body and the action is performed on sacred aboriginal land ‘Yarrandabby” Elizabeth Bay.

Naomi Oliver presents a performance titled ‘Yes / No’ which looks at identifying and overcoming self-defeating behaviours (in this case, passivity), exploring the space between personal resolve and  actual outcome: I want this, but keeping doing this instead. “Though I can feel the undertow/ I never make a complaint/ Till it's too late for restraint/ Then when I want to I can't/ I can't sayyyyyy Oh no”. (Rodgers And Hammerstein 'I Cain't Say No!’)

Rhys Turner & co present Squiggle 2.5. Squiggle is an ambient multiuser video sculpture with live performance. Using a touch device (iPad, iPodTouch, iPhone, TouchPC etc...) visitors help create an interactive video, performance and sound sculpture with game-like interaction like that of a VJ. The project explores the potential connectivity and virtual baggage we carry around daily with so-called ‘smart’ technology and ties it into spoken word, writing and poetry. Squiggle 2.5 is in made collaboration with graphics by DAVROS (AUS), sound by VLADISLAV DELAY (FIN), and POINT THE BONE (AUS).

 

- November 18th - across many timezones-

7-11pm (Melbourne Time) @ Tape Projects, Melbourne

7-11pm (Sydney Time) @ Alaska Projects, Sydney

6-10pm (Brisbane Time) @ Metro Arts Basement. Brisbane

9am-1pm (Paris Time) @ Le Dansoir Karine Saporta, Paris 

FULL PROGRAM

MELBOURNE @ Tape Projects
Time Paris 9am, Sydney/Melbourne 7pm, Brisbane 6pm
Michaela Davies and Sam Pettigrew ( 10’, hybrid art/ sound performance, Sydney)
Deanne Butterworth & Michael Munson (10’, dance, installation, sound)
T. R. Carter and Arie Rain Glorie (10’, performance art)
Hannah Beth Rasin (duration variable,  performance art)
Scratch Ensemble - (duration determined by group consensus, composition, action, undetermined)

SYDNEY @ Alaska Projects
Time Paris 10am, Sydney/Melbourne 8pm, Brisbane 7pm
Schappylle Scragg (10’, host performer)
Liam Benson (10’, vocal performance)
Janet Meaney (20’, performance art)
Naomi Oliver (5’, performance art)
Rhys Turner & co (15’, media, spoken word)

BRISBANE @ Metro Arts Basement
Time Paris 11am, Sydney/Melbourne 9pm, Brisbane 8pm
Botborg (10’, audio-visual feedback)
Leif Arwen Gifford (7’, expanded video art)
Onnie Art (3’, expanded vocal duet)
Leena Riethmuller (30’ durational, installation, simultaneous)
Velvet Pesu (30’ durational, installation, simultaneous)
Jamie Hume and Ben H. (5’, found sound)
Unique Oil Free Air (5’, found sound)
Marisa Allen (5’, spoken word)
459 (5’, live video)

PARIS @ Le Dansoir
Time Paris noon, Sydney/Melbourne 10pm, Brisbane 9pm
Ismael Ogando (25’, performance art, Dominican Republic)
Ane Lan (25’, experimental dance ritual, Norway)

For the full press release please visit: 

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1kQtAzJNhacsRrJyd5JG9eTpNPPGEjJy0WeLUA3BqCHQ/edit

Carousel photo credit: Naomi Oliver